Skip to main content

Notes and News

Publication Information
6 (November-December)


The annual meeting of the Cooper Ornithological Society in 1954 has been set for April 22 to 24 at Tucson, Arizona, by the Board of Directors. The meeting is sponsored by the University of Arizona, the Tucson Natural History Society, and the Tucson Audubon Society. The local committee consists of Allan R. Phillips, Chairman, Mr. and Mrs. Anders H. Anderson, C. V. Duff, James M. Gates, Lyndon L. Hargrave, Thomas R. Howell, Joe T. Marshall, Jr., Erie D. Norton, Mary Jane Nichols, Ivan Peters, W. J. Sheffler, Lyle K. Sowls, Rupert B. Streets, and Mr. anjd Mrs. J. T. Wright.

The annual index to The Condor was prepared this year by Anita K. Pearson. The editors gratefully acknowledge this important service to the Cooper Society.

At the meeting of the American Ornithologists’ Union in Los Angeles, California, on October 21, 1953, the Brewster Award was made to Hildegarde Howard for her researches on fossil birds. The officers elected for 1954 were: Alden H. Miller, President ; Ludlow Grfscom, First Vice-president ; Ernst Mayr, Second Vice-president; Harold F. Mayfield, Secretary; Charles G. Sibley, Treaaurer; Robert W. Storer, Editor; new councilors, John T. Emlen, A. W. Schorger, Albert Wolfson. New fellows elected were W. Lee Chambers, J. R. Pemberton, Francis M. Weston; new elective members, Paul H. Baldwin, F. M. Baumgartner, Alexander W. Blain, John Davis, Miguel Alvarez de1 Toro, Keith L. Dixon, Henry S. Fitch, Gordon W. Gullion, Thomas R. Howell, Carl B. Koford, Robert A. Norris, Kenneth C. Parkes, Kenneth E. Stager.

The Southwestern Association of Naturalists was formed at an organizational meeting attended by fifty-two persons at the University of Oklahoma Biological Station at Lake Texoma on May 23, 1953. As stated in the constitution, “The object of the Association shah be to promote the field study of plants and animals, living and fossil, in the Southwestern United States and Mexico, and to aid the scientific activities of its members.” The Association hopes to stimulate the study of the region by bringing together persons of like interests through publication of annotated membership lists, annual meetings, and perhaps later through the publication of a journal.

The officers elected for the first year were: W. Frank Blair (Vertebrate Zoology), University of Texas, President; George J. Goodman (Plant Taxonomy), University of Oklahoma, Vice-President; Herndon G. Dowling (Herpetology), University of Arkansas, Secretary-Treasurer. The geographic scope of the Association at present includes Mexico and the states of Arizona, Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. 

Total votes: 0

Advanced Search