EASTERN BIRD BANDING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES 6 Apr 2013

Meeting Convened:

The Annual meeting of the Eastern Bird Banding Association at Fall Creek Falls State Park, Pikeville, Tennessee was called to order by President Margaret Fritze at 1320 hours.

Officer's Reports:

President's Report

Margaret Fritze welcomed all to the joint conference with IBBA. She thanked all who assisted in making the conference a success; Dave Hauber, Ken Heselton, Don Mease, and Elaine Mease. Margaret noted that the Strategic Planning Committee has developed a survey and asked all members to please complete the survey. The returns are slow coming in and no trends are yet determined.

First Vice President:

James Tate resigned the position due to medical difficulties; therefore, there is no report.

Second Vice President:

David Okines reported that next years meeting will be a joint meeting with Ontario Bird Banding Association and will be held at the Holiday Inn in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.

Third Vice President:

Melanie Reichley reported that the budget for the year 2013-2014 has been accepted projecting a balanced budget of \$14,980. She also noted that the 2015 meeting will possibly be held at Elk Neck, North Bay Adventure in Maryland.

Treasurer:

Don Mease reported income for the year was \$9,836 and investment income was \$7,149 for a total income of \$16,985, expenditures were \$16,035 resulting in a profit of \$950. Don stated that the bucket raffle made \$2,000 last year. He stressed that the bucket raffle money goes into investment and is not spent. The interest from that

principle pays the honoraria. Don also noted that about \$25,000, which set aside for future net purchases, will be put into investments.

Secretary:

Jerry Lahr reported that there was no e-mail vote. We still need e-mail addresses of our members, as he receives requests for banders in specific areas and cannot contact them to find out if they will entertain guests at their stations. It was suggested that a line be put on the membership renewal forms for e-mail addresses.

Editor/Production Coordinator:

Bob reported that there has been a consistent drop in membership over the years for all three organizations. Bob stated that volumes 31 and 32 need to be added to the SORA archive to keep us five years back. Bob reported that in volume 37 no. 3 photos and/or graphics will be published in NABB, along with the URL or web address of the association publishing them. Some concerns need to be worked out between the associations: How long should they remain on the website; should they be archived for future use; and should they be copyrighted?

Committee Reports:

Nominating Committee:

Candidates for officers and councilors:

President:

Ken Heselton

First Vice President:

David Okines

Second Vice President:

Melanie Reichley

Third Vice President:

David Brinker

Secretary:

Gerald Lahr

Treasurer:

Don Mease

Editor:

Robert Pantle

Councilors 2016

David Hauber (1st term)

Andrea Patterson (1st term)

John Waud (1st term)

Dan Small (1st term)

Nominations accepted as read. There were no nominations from the floor. It was moved by Ken Heselton to elect the proposed ballot. The motion was seconded and passed to have the Secretary cast a vote for the proposed slate of officers.

Publication & Membership:

Elaine Mease noted that there are 294 paid members this year with 48 yet to renew; and a list of 16 new members has been posted. Elaine noted that we lost Herbert Volker and David and Linda Fluri this past year. A motion was made by Ken Heselton to accept the new members. The motion was seconded and carried

Memorial Grant Committee:

Doris McGovern reported that 24 applications were submitted of which the following three were selected for a \$500 grant each by the committee.

Ashley Asmus, a graduate student at the University of Texas, at Arlington, TX. His topic is: Trophic Match and Mismatch in an Arctic-breeding Generalist Passerine. His research will document the seasonal patterns of diet composition in a generalist passerine using DNA Barcode Analysis on fecal samples of White-crowned Sparrows.

Sarah Baillie, a graduate student at Villanova University. Her topic is: Boldness in Response to Predatory Threat and its Correlation with Reproductive Success in Carolina Chickadees (Poecile carolinensis).

Melissa Olmstead, a graduate student at Wilfrid Laurier University in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. Her topic is: Fire ecology of White-throated Sparrows (Zonotrichia albicollis): short-term effects of a prescribed burn on nesting success.

Net Committee:

Ted reported that the supplier he found in China has ceased communications with him, possibly because he could not produce a net of the quality EBBA desires. Ted is still looking for a supplier that can produce a quality net. He reported net sales of \$3,800.00.

NABC Delegate Report:

Andrea Patterson reported that most of the banding and training manuals are being revised.

New Business:

Margaret Fritze reported that the life membership dues have been increased to \$500. An Honorary Membership was presented to Margaret Fritze by Elaine Mease.

Adjourn:

It was moved and seconded to adjourn. Motion passed. The meeting was adjourned

Gerald K. Lahr, Secretary

EBBA Committee appoinments

In accordance with the EBBA Bylaws I am appointing the following members and chairs of the various EBBA committees.

Auditing Committee Chair - Bill Hobbs; Members - Brad Silfies and Nick Kerlin

Finance Committee Chair - Dave Brinker; Members - Don Mease

Location Committee Chair - Melanie Reichley

Membership Committee Chair - Elaine Mease

Memorial Grant Committee Chair - Elizabeth Brooks; Members - Doris McGovern

Net Committee Chair - Ted Hicks

Nominating Committee Chair - Adrienne Leppold; Members - Dave Hauber and Tom LeBlanc Program Committee Chair - Dave Okines

Publications Committee Chair - Margaret Fritze (This is the Bylaws established committee that is assigned the duty of assisting the Editor)

Publications and Back Issues Sales - Elaine Mease

Strategic Planning Committee Chair - Tom Greg; Members - Margaret Fritze and Melanie Reichley Student Travel Grants Committee Chair - Elizabeth Brooks; Members - Doris McGovern

Ken Heselton, President of EBBA KHeselton@cs.com