## **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

## SECOND VICE-PRESIDENTS OF THE WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY

In anticipation of the 100th anniversary of The Wilson Ornithological Society, The Wilson Bulletin is publishing a series of lists compiled by John L. Zimmerman of the past and present officers and Council Members of the Society. Below is a list of the Second Vice-Presidents of The Wilson Ornithological Society.

Josselyn Van Tyne, 1932 Alfred M. Bailey, 1933–1934 Margaret Morse Nice, 1935–1936 Lawrence E. Hicks, 1937 George Miksch Sutton, 1938–1939 S. Charles Kendeigh, 1940–1941 Olin Sewall Pettingill, Jr., 1942–1943 Harrison F. Lewis, 1944–1946 Maurice Brooks, 1947–1948 Walter J. Breckenridge, 1948–1950 Burt L. Monroe, Sr., 1950–1952 Harold F. Mayfield, 1952–1954 Lawrence H. Walkinshaw, 1954–1956 Phillips B. Street, 1956–1960 Roger Tory Peterson, 1960–1962 Aaron M. Bagg, 1962–1964 H. Lewis Batts, Jr., 1964–1966 William W. H. Gunn, 1966–1968 Pershing B. Hofslund, 1968–1969 Kenneth C. Parkes, 1969–1971 Andrew J. Berger, 1971–1973 Douglas A. James, 1973–1975 George A. Hall, 1975–1977 Abbot S. Gaunt, 1977–1979 Jerome A. Jackson, 1979–1981 Clait E. Braun, 1981–1983 Mary H. Clench, 1983–1985 Jon C. Barlow, 1985–

## FIRST GEORGE MIKSCH SUTTON AWARD FOR ORNITHOLOGICAL ART

In June 1985, at the joint meeting of the Wilson and Cooper ornithological societies, a panel of judges selected Karen Lynn Allaben-Confer as the recipient of the George Miksch Sutton Award for Ornithological Art. Her painting, "Razorbills" (*Alca torda*), is the Frontispiece of this issue of *The Wilson Bulletin*.

Karen lives in Brooktondale, New York, near Ithaca. She graduated in 1969 from Ithaca College (B.A. in Biology), where her illustrations of faculty publications, classroom visual aids, Ph.D. theses, and rough sketches for freshman chemistry and biology texts were exchanged for tuition. Her marriage in 1974 to John L. Confer, Associate Professor of Biology at Ithaca College, germinated her ornithological career. In 1976 she traveled to Trinidad to study with noted artist Don Eckelberry.

Karen has organized and exhibited in three major group shows at the Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology. Her first major single-artist exhibition, "Release the falcon—a visual life history of the Peregrine Falcon," was exhibited at Cornell in 1981. She has also exhibited at the "Birds in Art" show at the Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum in Wausaw, Wisconsin, after which her paintings toured the U.S.

Karen was Art Editor for *New York Birders*, the newsletter of the Federation of NYS Bird Clubs, and has published in *American Birds, Bird Watcher's Digest, The Living Bird*, and the *Living Bird Quarterly*. She is illustrating the New York State Breeding Bird Atlas.

Karen is preparing a major exhibition on the life of the Atlantic Puffin (Fratercula arctica)

THE WILSON BULLETIN • Vol. 98, No. 2, June 1986

and related seabirds. Her field work has taken her to Eastern Egg Rock and Matinicus Rock off the coast of Maine, and to Great Island in the Witless Bay Seabird Sanctuary off the coast of New foundland. A month of valuable observations, field sketches and photographs on Great Island helped create the Razorbill painting that won the Sutton Award.

## STUDENT MEMBERSHIP AWARDS IN THE WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY FOR 1986

Student Membership Awards in the Wilson Ornithological Society have been made available from the general funds of the society to recognize students who have the potential to make significant contributions to ornithology. The following students have been selected by the Student Membership Committee for awards this year: Michael E. Barnes, Kansas State Univ.; Constance J. Boardman, California State Univ.; Stephen C. Brown, Univ. Michigan; David A. Buehler, Virginia Tech; Linda A. Caine, Univ. Florida; John P. Carroll, Univ. North Dakota; Greg H. Farley, Kansas State Univ.; Thomas P. Fitch, Idaho State Univ.; Fernando G. Garcia, Programa Fauna de Mexico; Nicholas W. Gard, Macdonald College, Quebec; Dale E. Gawlik, Winthrop College; Michael T. Green, Univ. North Carolina; Floyd E. Hayes, Univ. Michigan; Gloria E. Jacoby, Univ. Kentucky; Paula K. Kleintjes, California Polytechnic State Univ.; Michael J. Kolasa, Northern Michigan Univ.; Natasha B. Kotliar, Univ. New Mexico; Keven J. Kritz, Univ. Missouri; Darrell E. Land, Univ. Florida; Michael P. Losito, Auburn Univ.; Craig D. Olawsky, Texas Tech Univ.; James C. Ozier, Univ. Georgia; Bradley E. Sample, Univ. Delaware; Birgit C. Schultz, McGill Univ., Quebec; Dave Shutler, Macdonald College, Quebec; Alexander P. Smith, Univ. North Carolina.

Student Membership Committee, Wilson Ornithological Society-Thomas C. Grubb, Charles F. Leck, Roland R. Roth, and Richard N. Conner (chair).

334