# ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

#### AARON M. BAGG STUDENT MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

Student Membership Awards in The Wilson Ornithological Society have been made available through funds generously donated in memory of Aaron M. Bagg, a former president of the society. The Student Membership Committee has made the 1981 awards to the following students: Anthony H. Bledsoe, Yale Univ., Connecticut; Petra G. Bohall, Univ. Florida; Bruce A. Colvin, Bowling Green State Univ., Ohio; William E. Davis, Univ. California-Davis; James G. Devereux, Frostburg State College, Maryland; Sharon Goldwasser, Univ. Arizona; Michael E. Kaspari, Univ. Nebraska; Francis P. Kehoe, Univ. Western Ontario; Mary C. McKitrick, Univ. Pittsburgh; Mari B. Smaby, North Dakota State Univ.; Ellen J. Snyder, Univ. Maine-Orono; Robert E. Szafoni, Univ. Illinois; Brian M. Winter, Iowa State Univ.

John L. Zimmerman, Chairman

#### WILSON SOCIETY COMMITTEES

The Officers of the Society would like to broaden the participation of the membership in its operation and urge individuals who would be willing and interested in serving to make themselves known. Standing committees of the Society include: Conservation, Endowment, Library, Membership, Research and Student Membership. If you would like to serve on any of these committees in the future please contact the Chairman of the Nominating Committee, Dr. George Hall, Dept. Chemistry, West Virginia University, Morgantown, West Virginia 26506.

## TAMAULIPAN BIOTIC PROVINCE SYMPOSIUM

An international symposium will be held on the Tamaulipan Biotic Province, 28–30 October 1982, in Corpus Christi, Texas. All ecological aspects of the biome will be covered: vegetation, invertebrates, vertebrates, ecological structure and function, biological resources (use and effects) and management, as well as aspects of applied science and conservation. Interested paper contributors should submit abstract by 1 August 1982; invited-paper abstracts must be received by 1 September 1982. Contact Gene Blacklock, Curator, Welder Wildlife Foundation, P.O. Drawer 1400, Sinton, Texas 78387; or David Riskind, Head, Resource Management Section, Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept., 4200 Smith School Rd., Austin, Texas 78744 for information on papers. Contact Jimmie Picquet, Director, John E. Conner Museum, Texas A&M Univ., P.O. Box 2172, Kingsville, Texas 78363 for registration information.

### ANNOUNCEMENT AND CALL FOR PAPERS

The sixth annual meeting of the Colonial Waterbird Group will be held 4-7 November 1982 in Washington, D.C. A symposium on the feeding biology of waterbirds is planned. Papers given at the meeting are eligible, after refereeing, for publication in Colonial Waterbirds. Anyone wishing to contribute to either the symposium (deadline 1 Sept.) or general session (deadline 15 Sept.) should contact Dr. Michael Erwin, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, Laurel, Maryland 20708. Information concerning registration can also be obtained from Dr. Erwin.