ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

LOUIS AGASSIZ FUERTES AND MARGARET MORSE NICE AWARDS

Fuertes Awards are devoted to the encouragement and stimulation of young ornithologists. One particular desire is the development of research interests among amateur ornithologists and students. Any kind of ornithological research may be aided. Recipients of grants need not be associated with academic institutions. Each proposal is considered primarily on the basis of possible contribution to ornithological knowledge. Although grantees are not required to publish their studies in The Wilson Bulletin, it is hoped that they will submit their manuscripts to the editor of The Wilson Bulletin for consideration.

Most of the statements applicable to the Fuertes Awards are also applicable to the Nice Award. However, the Nice Award is limited to applicants not associated with a college or university. It is intended to encourage the independent researcher without access to funds and facilities generally available at the colleges. High school students are eligible.

In some years two Fuertes Awards have been made, in some years, one. Amounts have been between \$200 and \$100. One Nice Award is made annually, in the amount of \$100.

Interested persons may write to Frank B. Gill, Academy of Natural Sciences, 19th and the Parkway, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103. Completed applications must be received by 1 April 1975. Final decisions will be made by the Council at the annual meeting of the Society, 11-14 June 1975.

FRANK M. CHAPMAN FUND

The Frank M. Chapman Memorial Fund gives grants in aid for ornithological research and also post-doctoral fellowships. Applications are due on 15 September and 15 February. Information on form and content of applications may be obtained from the Frank M. Chapman Memorial Fund Committee, The American Museum of Natural History, Central Park West at 79th Street, New York, N.Y. 10024.

SYMPOSIUM ON AVIAN HABITATS

The Wilson Ornithological Society and the Cooper Ornithological Society will co-host this symposium at their joint meeting at Bozeman, Montana, on 12–14 June 1975. The symposium is organized by Douglas James and will focus on birds and the vegetational environments that they occupy. John Emlen will introduce the symposium, and James Karr will present a closing summary of the papers. Speakers have already been invited, and many have already accepted and presented their titles for their papers. There will be a wide variety of subjects treated, ranging geographically from the Americas to Africa and ecologically from the tropics to tundra.

FROM THE A.O.U.

At the annual meeting of the American Ornithologists' Union in Norman, Oklahoma, on 14-18 October, the following officers were elected:

President: Donald S. Farner First Vice-President: Charles G. Sibley Second Vice-President: Wesley E. Lanyon Secretary: George E. Watson Treasurer: John A. Wiens Editor, *The Auk*: Oliver L. Austin, Jr. December 1974 Vol. 86, No. 4

The Brewster Medal was awarded to James R. King, and the Elliott Coues Award was given to the late Robert H. MacArthur. The 1975 meeting is scheduled to be at the University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, on 25–29 August.

ERRATA

In Vol. 86 of *The Wilson Bulletin*, the following errors have been called to the attention of the editor:

No. 1, p. 65. The date in paragraph three should have been 1972, not 1973, in reference to the date that Olivaceous Cormorants were seen.

No. 3, p. 279. The dates in paragraphs six and seven should have been 1971, not 1968, in reference to the first dates of nesting by Brown Pelicans released in Louisiana.

At this time and with my final number, I wish to express my deep appreciation to all those who helped in publication of Vol. 86 of *The Wilson Bulletin*. In particular, I thank the scores of people who referred manuscripts and who are acknowledged here in a body rather than individually. In addition, the editorial staff is to be commended, including everyone from secretaries to the associate editors. I also express my appreciation to the authors of manuscripts submitted to *The Bulletin*, the overwhelming majority of whom endured my attempts at editing in a constructive and accommodating manner. Finally, Allen Press and its excellent staff are to be acknowledged for their continued excellent job on *The Bulletin*,—JOHN P. HUBBARD.

NOTICE TO CONTRIBUTORS

Authors are reminded that all manuscripts should now be sent to Dr. Jerome A. Jackson, Department of Zoology, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, Mississippi 39762. In addition, it should be noted that Dr. Robert J. Raikow will be the Review Editor for 1975.