## ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

Once again it becomes the Editor's pleasant job to publicly thank all those persons whose assistance made possible the preparation of the volume just completed. As usual the services of the Editorial Board, whose names appear on the back cover, were invaluable. In addition to these many other ornithologists kindly reviewed papers. C. Chandler Ross bore the large burden of preparing the Membership List which appeared in the September issue. The other Officers and Committee Chairmen were unfailingly responsive to requests made of them. Very special acknowledgment should be made to Don Eckelberry who painted the portrait of the Ciccaba owl expressly for the March issue. Miss Mildred Stewart prepared the index to Volume 78.

President Aaron Bagg has announced that Nominating Committee for 1967 will consist of: Phillips B. Street, Chairman; Maurice G. Brooks; and Roger T. Peterson. Any WOS member who would like to make suggestions to the Nominating Committee should feel free to contact any of these gentlemen before the Annual Meeting in June.

Any member of the WOS who has a resolution he would like to have considered by the Resolutions Committee at the next Annual Meeting should communicate the fact to the Secretary, who will turn it over in due course to the Resolutions Committee when the latter is appointed.

President Bagg has appointed the following Committee on Complimentary Student Memberships: Maurice G. Brooks, Chairman; H. Lewis Batts, Jr.; and Stephen W. Eaton. Undergraduate students at all colleges and universities in the United States and Canada will be eligible for these awards.

The Cornell Laboratory of Ornithology would like to remind contributors to the North American Nest Record Card Program to return their nest record cards for the 1966 breeding season as soon as possible. Last year over 25,000 completed cards were returned. Research workers are also reminded that these data are available for their use upon request.

The Eastern Birdbanding Association announces an annual award of \$100 to be made to a student, either graduate or undergraduate, who is using bird banding as a part of a research project. Applications for this award should be submitted prior to 28 February 1967. Direct all inquiries and applications to Mr. Albert Schnitzer, Chairman Memorial Award Committee, 155 Wild Hedge Lane, Mountainside, New Jersey 07092.

## FROM THE AOU

At its annual meeting in Duluth, Minnesota on 5 September 1966 the AOU elected the following officers:

Harold F. Mayfield, President Thomas R. Howell, First Vice-President John W. Aldrich, Second Vice-President

Harvey I. Fisher.

L. Richard Mewaldt, Secretary Burt L. Monroe, Sr., Treasurer

John W. Aldrich, Second Vice-President Robert M. Mengel, Editor and elected members of the Council: Phillip S. Humphrey, Wesley E. Lanyon, and

George A. Bartholomew of the University of California, Los Angeles was awarded the Brewster Medal.