ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

At the Annual Meeting of The Wilson Ornithological Society held at University Park, Pennsylvania, 28 April-1 May, Aaron M. Bagg was elected President of the Society, succeeding Roger Tory Peterson. The names of the other newly elected officers of The Society appear on the inside of the front cover of this issue of *The Bulletin*.

The 48th Annual Meeting of The Wilson Ornithological Society will be held from 15–18 June 1967 at Crawford Lodge in Crawford Notch in the heart of the New Hampshire White Mountains. At that time of the year we can expect to find many northern birds at the height of their nesting season. Members should start planning now for what promises to be a very attractive meeting. Robert Smart of New Hampton, New Hampshire will be the local chairman.

The Executive Council voted unanimously to award two Louis Agassiz Fuertes Research Grants for 1966. The recipients were Douglas D. Dow for a study of "Habitat selection in the Cardinal" and Ralph W. Schreiber for a study of "Non-breeding behavior of the Herring Gull." Funds were available for two awards partly as the result of a gift to the Research Fund by an anonymous donor.

The Editor wishes to acknowledge his grateful thanks to Dr. Andrew J. Berger who has retired from the Editorial Advisory Board after nine years service in that capacity. Dr. Berger had previously been Assistant Editor of *The Bulletin* and a member of the Executive Council. The Society owes him much for his long and faithful service.