WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY NEWS

Josselyn Van Tyne, posthumously, has been named the first Patron of the Wilson Ornithological Society as a result of a gift from an anonymous donor. The donor expressed the wish that this further recognition be given to Dr. Van Tyne in appreciation for his self-sacrificing service to the Wilson Ornithological Society over a long period of years. It would be difficult to enumerate all of Dr. Van Tyne's contributions to the Society, but he will be remembered especially for his distinguished editorship of the Bulletin, his leadership as President, and his personal sponsorship of the Wilson Society Library at Ann Arbor, to which his widow, Helen Bates Van Tyne, recently gave his large collection of ornithological works.

At the Thirty-ninth Annual Meeting, held at Wheeling, West Virginia, April 24-27, 1958, the following officers were elected:

President	Lawrence H. Walkinshaw
First Vice-President	Harold F. Mayfield
Second Vice-President	Phillips B. Street
Secretary	Aaron M. Bagg
Treasurer	
Editor (beginning 1959)	H. Lewis Batts, Jr.
Elective member of the Executive Co	ouncil Ernest P. Edwards

The Proceedings of the meeting will appear in the September issue of The Wilson Bulletin.

NOTICE

Manuscripts intended for publication as long articles in *The Wilson Bulletin* should be submitted to Dr. H. Lewis Batts, Jr., Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, Michigan. Dr. Batts will assume the editorship beginning with Volume 71, 1959. Material for inclusion in "General Notes" should be sent to the present editor.