EDITORIAL

President Breckenridge has appointed committee chairmen, to serve during the year 1953-1954, as follows: Library, George J. Wallace; Research Grant, Ernst Mayr; Endowment, Charles H. Rogers; Membership, Ralph M. Edeburn; Conservation, William H. Marshall; and Local Committee on Arrangements for the 1954 meeting at Cape May, Phillips B. Street.

Other 1953-1954 appointees are: W.O.C. representative on the American Ornithologists' Union Council, meeting at Los Angeles, R. Allyn Moser; W.O.C. delegate to the 1954 International Congress at Basel, Switzerland, Olin Sewall Pettingill, Jr.; and Investing Trustee, Phillips B. Street, to succeed A. W. Schorger, whose term has expired.

THE LOUIS AGASSIZ FUERTES RESEARCH GRANT

It will again be possible in 1954 to make the award of a Louis Agassiz Fuertes Research Grant, thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor. Applications for this grant of \$100 and inquiries about it should be directed to the chairman of the Research Committee, Prof. E. Mayr, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Cambridge 38, Massachusetts. Any member of the Club or one of the Affiliated Societies will be eligible. Applications, which should state the qualifications and the need of the applicant as well as details of the planned research project, must be received as soon as possible so that the award can be made at the June meeting.

The Membership Committee would like to be able to report to the Cape May meeting in June that the membership roster contains 2000 names. This will require an increase of 212 members beyond the total for December, 1952. Each member probably knows of one or more persons who would profit by association with us. It is up to you, the membership, to invite such persons to join the Wilson Club, and to turn in their names to the Membership Committee, using for this purpose the nomination forms which accompanied dues notices. We, as a committee, have no other way of obtaining many of these names. Last year's nominations brought in about 50 new members, a very profitable effort. May we have your continued support? Send the nomination forms to the Treasurer, or to any one of the Membership Committee listed below:

Ralph M. Edeburn, Chairman, Marshall College, Huntington, W. Va. Mrs. Herbert E. Carnes, 25 Kenwood Road, Tenafly, N. J. Ben B. Coffey, Jr., 672 N. Belvedere, Memphis 7, Tenn. Robert C. Conn, 769 Park Avenue, Bound Brook, N. J. Alfred E. Eynon, 5 Beach Road, Verona, N. J. G. E. Grube, Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, Pa. Harold D. Mitchell, 378 Cresmont Avenue, Buffalo 14, N. Y. C. Chandler Ross, 7924 Lincoln Drive, Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia 18, Pa. Edward L. Seeber, Laboratory of Ornithology, Cornell University, Ithaca, N. Y. George M. Sutton, Department of Zoology, Univ. of Oklahoma, Norman, Okla. T. G. Watson, 4110 Drummond Street, Houston 25, Texas.