EDITORIAL

Because of the pressure of other work your present Editor has asked to be relieved of the responsibility at the conclusion of the present volume, his tenth. He is grateful for the very generous help and encouragement received from members and friends throughout his editorship.

The Council has been fortunate in securing the services of David E. Davis of Johns Hopkins University as the new Editor of *The Wilson Bulletin*.

Dr. Davis is a graduate of Swarthmore College and received the Ph.D. from Harvard for his studies on the social nesting habits of a subfamily of cuckoos, the Crotophaginae. His ornithological studies have taken him to Cuba, Panama, British Guiana, Brazil, and Argentina. He has also worked at the University of Chicago on the reproductive physiology of the domestic fowl and, for the Rockefeller Foundation, on the ecology of yellow fever in Brazil. Dr. Davis is now Assistant Professor in the School of Hygiene and Public Health of Johns Hopkins.

The Membership Roll published in this issue contains 1,626 names and is the longest in the history of the Club. Gratitude is due to Dorothy Hobson and her assistants on the Membership Committee and to the many Members who have brought the Club and its *Bulletin* to the attention of other bird students.

The Roll was prepared by our faithful Treasurer, Burt L. Monroe, who has checked it throughout with the greatest care. Nevertheless, he assures us that there are certain to be errors in a list of this size, and he asks that Members notify him promptly of any inaccuracy or omission.

We are grateful to the many Wilson Club members and friends who have helped in the preparation of the current volume of the *Bulletin*. We wish particularly to thank: W. J. Breckenridge, Allan D. Cruickshank, Harrison F. Lewis, Karl H. Maslowski, Ernst Mayr, R. Allyn Moser, Olin Sewall Pettingill, Jr., Nathan S. Potter, III, T. M. Shortt, George Miksch Sutton, Milton B. Trautman, Henry van der Schalie, and Alexander Wetmore.

ORNITHOLOGICAL NEWS

The Sixty-sixth Stated Meeting of the American Ornithologists' Union was held in Omaha, Nebraska, October 11 to 14, 1948. The officers elected were: President, Robert Cushman Murphy; Vice-Presidents, Josselyn Van Tyne and Alden H. Miller; Secretary, Olin Sewall Pettingill, Jr.; Treasurer, R. Allyn Moser; Council Members, Austin L. Rand, John T. Zimmer, Frederick C. Lincoln, and A. J. van Rossem. The Council appointed Harvey I. Fisher, of the University of Illinois, Editor of the Auk, and awarded the Brewster Medal to David Lack of Oxford, England, for his work (published in 1945 and 1947) on the Galápagos finches. The following were elected: Fellows—Oliver L. Austin, Jr., Thomas D. Burleigh, James C. Greenway, Jr., Roger T. Peterson, Frank A. Pitelka; Members—Maurice Broun, Allen J. Duvall, Albert I. Good, Charles O. Handley, Sr., George E. Hudson, Joe T. Marshall, Jr., Charles K. Nichols, Max M. Peet, William H. Phelps, Jr., John McB. Robertson, James O. Stevenson, Robert W. Storer, Arthur Stupka, Wendell Taber, Ralph E. Yeatter.

The 1949 meeting will be held in Buffalo, New York.