June 1945 Vol. 57, No. 2

REPORT OF THE SECRETARY FOR 1944

The Wilson Ornithological Club continued to prosper in 1944, despite interruptions resulting from the war. We closed our year (as of December 1) with 1,084 members on our rolls, a net increase of 56 over the membership in 1943. During 1944, we lost from all causes 95 members and received 151 new ones, including a number of former members who had dropped out during the last few years.

Our membership by classes is now distributed as follows: 3 Founders, 24 Life Members (an increase for the year of 5), 58 Sustaining Members (an increase of 13), 385 Active Members (an increase of 51), and 614 Associate Members (a decrease of 13).

The Membership Committee, with Frederick M. Baumgartner as Chairman, and also the officers and members of the Club, have been diligent in searching out new members. Special mention should be made of George O. Hendrickson whose recommendations secured 42 new members in 1944! Richard L. Weaver secured 8 new members; J. J. Hickey and George M. Sutton, 7 each; W. J. Breckenridge and Harold D. Mitchell, 5 each; Clark S. Beardslee and I. B. Boggs, 4 each; Frank J. Hinds, Linus C. Hoffmeister, Howard L. Mendall, Edwin T. Moul, and Frank A. Pitelka, 3 each; A. F. Ganier, Lawrence I. Grinnell, H. W. Hann, S. C. Harriot, and Gordon Wilson, two each; Bernard William Baker, Mrs. F. L. Battell, Howard Elmer Bishop, L. Irby Davis, John T. Emlen, Jr., William G. Fargo, S. B. Heckler, Harold M. Hefley, Dorothy Hobson, George T. Hughes, David W. Johnston, E. J. Koestner, Harry A. McGraw, Howard H. Michaud, Levi L. Mohler, Gale Monson, Roger Tory Peterson, Charles L. Remington, Thomas J. Scott, Wayne Short, Gerald B. Spawn, Doris Huestis Speirs, J. Murray Speirs, Gustav Swanson, Ruth D. Turner, Frank G. Watson, and Harold B. Wood, one each. The nomination blanks included with the annual dues notices have added an encouraging number of prospective members to our list.

The mail ballot for officers of the Club during 1945 resulted in the election of the slate suggested by the Nominating Committee, namely:

President: S. Charles Kendeigh

First Vice-President: Olin Sewall Pettingill, Jr.

Second Vice-President: Harrison F. Lewis

Secretary: Maurice Brooks

Treasurer: Milton B. Trautman

Councillors: Burt L. Monroe, Eugene P. Odum, Lawrence H. Walkinshaw.

Josselyn Van Tyne was re-elected Editor at the meeting of the Council in August.

The Secretary wishes to express the thanks of the Club to the many persons whose efforts have forwarded the work of the organization during these difficult times.

December 1, 1945

Respectfully submitted,

MAURICE BROOKS, Secretary

WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL CLUB LIBRARY

The following gifts have been recently received. From: G. Reeves Butchart—1 book Leon Kelso—1 pamphlet William H. Phelps—4 reprints Katie Roads—2 books, 2 pamphlets Wendell Taber—1 book Josselyn Van Tyne—43 reprints James B. Young—1 reprint

TO THE MEMBERS OF THE WILSON ORNITHOLOGICAL CLUB:

The prosecution of the war and the establishment of a sound peace are the vital concern of us all, and it is proper that a great part of the individual attention and effort of each of us should at present be devoted to them.

Nevertheless, other interests—the normal, cultural interests of times of peace —have still a rightful claim to our attention, since it is in fact for just such things that we are fighting. Not only may we rightfully support these interests, even in the midst of war, and even though they do not directly aid the war effort, but we may look ahead and plan for their further development after the war.

One such peacetime interest important to the members of the Wilson Club is the advancement of ornithology and related sciences, particularly by furthering the work of the Club in its special field. There is no need to impress upon you the value of the work of the Club. You have shown your belief in it by becoming members, by actively supporting the Club year after year, and frequently by raising your membership status. You know that the Club is doing fine work now evidenced primarily by the publication of the *Bulletin* and its growing list of subscribers but also by other activities less well known but equally worthy of encouragement. The continued advancement of the Club's work and the extension of its field of usefulness can be achieved only through the continued and increasing support of its members and friends.

Your support may be given in various ways: through changing from one class of membership to a higher one, especially to that of Life Membership, and through gifts or bequests. By arranging with your attorney for a bequest, those of you who are greatly interested in promoting the work of the Club, though not now in a position to render substantial aid, may provide such aid for the future. But a Life Membership will undoubtedly appeal to a number of you. It requires payment of one hundred dollars, which may be made, if you prefer, in four equal annual installments. Gifts and bequests (unless the donor specifies otherwise), as well as Life Membership payments, are placed in the endowment fund, whose principal always remains untouched and is invested to produce a safe income—at present, of course, in War Bonds as the Club's collective contribution to the war effort.

The Committee extends to each of you the thanks of the Club as a whole for your cooperation in the past and solicits your continued support in the future.

Respectfully yours,

THE ENDOWMENT COMMITTEE George B. Thorp, Chairman

1400 Lake Shore Drive Chicago 10, Illinois June 1, 1945

May 3, 1945

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON AFFILIATED SOCIETIES

At the August 1944 meeting of the Wilson Ornithological Club Council, a change in the membership of the Affiliated Societies Committee was approved. In future it will consist of a chairman appointed by the President of the Wilson Club, a member-at-large for the Wilson Club, and one representative from each of the affiliated societies. Formation of the new committee is now complete, and membership is as follows: *Chairman*, Gordon M. Meade; *Member-at-large*, George Lowery; *Representatives*, Eugene P. Odum (Georgia Ornithological Society), O. A. Stevens (Inland Bird Banding Association), Harvey B. Lovell, (Kentucky Ornithological Society), Amelia R. Laskey (Tennessee Ornithological Society), J. J. Murray (Virginia Society of Ornithology), N. R. Barger (Wisconsin Ornithological Society).

The affiliated groups will work through this committee to promote closer affiliation and exchange of ideas.

GORDON M. MEADE, M.D., Chairman