## ANNUAL MEETING OF THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NORTHEASTERN BIRD-BANDING ASSOCIATION AT THE BROADMOOR SANCTUARY OF THE MASSACHUSETTS AUDUBON SOCIETY SOUTH NATICK, MASSACHUSETTS SATURDAY 3 MAY 1986

Call to order.-The Annual Meeting of the Northeastern Bird-Banding Association's membership was called to order at 2:40 p.m. by President John Kricher. Attendance was 36 NEBBA members and 5 guests.

Adoption of minutes.-Minutes of the 27 April 1985 Annual Business Meeting of the membership held at the National 4H Center at Chevy Chase, Maryland were read by Secretary Sally Laughlin. Acceptance was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED.

Election of members.—It was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED that all dues-paying provisional members of NEBBA be elected to full membership.

Name change/bylaws change.—The change of the name of the Association by changing Article I Section 1 of the NEBBA bylaws had been proposed by mail, and thus warned through the meeting notice as legally required to change the bylaws. President John Kricher stepped down to speak to the matter and Vice-President William E. Davis, Jr. took over the Chair. John explained the reasoning behind the desire for the name change and the many letters in favor received in response to his article in the Journal of Field Ornithology. It was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED that Article I Section 1 be amended to read: "The name of this association shall be The Association of Field Ornithologists, Incorporated." The motion carried with 35 members in favor and 1 abstention. It was further MOVED, SECONDED, and VOTED that the President and the Vice-President be authorized to change the Articles of Association under Chapter 180 Sections 7 and 7a under Massachusetts law to the name "Association of Field Ornithologists."

President's report.-President John Kricher thanked Scott Sutcliffe, Brian Harrington, and Jim Seamans for their management of the Association of Field Ornithologists financial affairs. He commented on the smooth change in editorial supervision of the Journal, thanks to Jed Burtt and to Jerry Jackson, our retiring Editor. Our Association is still trying to join the Ornithological Society of North America. John is hopeful that we will eventually be successful.

Treasurer's report.—The Treasurer's Report was delivered by the President in the absence of Treasurer Scott Sutcliffe. Our assets as of 31 December 1985 were \$137,815. Income this past year was \$60,183, expenses \$53,956, leaving us with a surplus \$6226, counting the income brought in by the mist net sales. Special thanks was expressed to Brian Harrington and the Manomet Bird Observatory. It was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED to accept the Treasurer's Report as presented. It was MOVED, SECONDED, and VOT-ED to express the Society's appreciation to Scott Sutcliffe, Brian Harrington and Jim Seamans.

Editor's report.-Edward H. Burtt, Jr. took over the Journal beginning with the 1986 issues. His philosophy includes: rapid response to authors, who hear within eight to ten weeks; publishing the Journal on a more timely schedule; the Journal will become bilingual, with summaries and titles translated into Spanish; the cover will change in accordance with our name change (we will keep the tern, however). It was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED to accept the Editor's Report with appreciation.

Bergstrom awards committee.-Valerie Freer delivered the Bergstrom Awards Committee Report. There were thirteen grants made. The full list will be published in the Journal. It was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED to accept the Awards Committee Report with gratitude.

Nominating committee report.-Helen Hays, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, delivered the following report: Proposed for four year terms as Councilor are Robert Askins, Wayne Peterson, and Christopher Rimmer. Proposed for Officers are: President, John C.

336]

Kricher; Vice-President, William E. Davis, Jr.; Secretary, Sarah B. Laughlin; Treasurer, Scott Sutcliffe. It was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED that nominations be closed. It was MOVED, SECONDED and VOTED that the Secretary cast one ballot for the above nominations. The ballot being cast, the above slate was elected.

Thanks were expressed to John A. Shetterly for his legal advice on the change of the bylaws; to Elissa Landre and Ted Davis for setting up this meeting; to the Broadmoor Sanctuary of the Massachusetts Society for providing the excellent site; to all who gave papers, lectures, or are leading field trips.

Next year's meeting.—The 1987 meeting will be hosted by the Laboratory of Ornithology and will be held at Cornell University's Arnot Forest near Ithaca, N.Y. The dates are not set but it will probably be the last weekend in April.

Adjournment.—There being no further business, the Annual Meeting of the Association of Field Ornithologists was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted, Sarah B. Laughlin Secretary

The Association of Field Ornithologists and the editorial staff of the Journal of Field Ornithology thank the following individuals for their editorial advice (an asterisk indicates consultation on two or more manuscripts). Alan D. Afton, David A. Ainley\*, George A. Allen III, Brian D. Anderson, Diane Anderson, Michael G. Anderson\*, William L. An-Allen III, Brian D. Anderson, Diane Anderson, Michael G. Anderson , William E. Anderson\*, Martha H. Balph\*, Luis F. Baptista\*, Jon C. Barlow, William H. Barnard\*, Jon Bart, Thomas S. Baskett, Allen H. Benton\*, Peter W. Bergstrom, Louis B. Best\*, Charles R. Blem, Hans Blokpoel, Carl E. Bock, Clait E. Braun, Randall Breitwisch\*, Richard Brewer, Charles R. Brown, Francine Buckley, Paul Buckley\*, Robert D. Burns, William A. Calder\*, Thomas Caraco, Michael Carey, C. Ray Chandler, Betty-Ann Chapman, Kim Cheng, Roger B. Clapp, Richard J. Clark\*, Bruce G. Coblentz, Robert R. Cohen, Charles T. Collins\*, D. M. Cooper\*, Robert L. Crawford\*, Phillip D. Creighton, J. C. Davies, James J. Dinsmore\*, Richard S. Donham\*, Steven H. Everhart, Peter Feinsinger, John W. Fitzpatrick, Dennis M. Forsythe\*, Peter C. Frederick, Leigh H. Fredrickson\*, Mark R. Fuller, J. Edward Gates, Sidney A. Gauthreaux, Jr., Ronald D. Gettinger, Jeffery A. Gore\*, Bradley M. Gottfried\*, Patricia Adair Gowaty\*, Jon S. Greenlaw, Harland D. Guillory, Bruce Haines, Michael Hamas, Jr., Lise A. Hanners\*, J. W. Hardy\*, Brian Harrington\*, Jeremy J. Hatch\*, Helen Hays\*, Carl W. Helms\*, David H. Hirth, Wayne Hoffman\*, Richard T. Holmes\*, Richard T. Hoppe, C. Stuart Houston, James L. Ingold\*, Jerome A. Jackson, Frances C. James, Joseph R. Jehl, Jr.\*, Paul A. Johnsgard, Ned K. Johnson, Herbert W. Kale, Al Kamil, Lawrence Kilham\*, David Klam, Ir. M. Kathlere Klinching, P. W. K. Daniel Klem, Jr., M. Kathleen Klimkiewicz, R. W. Knapton, John C. Kricher, Donald E. Kroodsma, David Lank, M. Ross Lein\*, Sheila A. Mahoney, Elizabeth P. Mallory\*, Jeffrey S. Marks\*, Carl D. Marti, Harold F. Mayfield, Patrick D. McArthur, William C. McComb\*, Judith W. McIntyre\*, Mark L. McKnight, L. Richard Mewaldt, Don E. Miller, Pierre Mineau, Frank R. Moore, Helmut C. Mueller\*, Ronald L. Mumme, Anthony J. Nastase, David N. Nettleship, Ian C. T. Nisbet, Lewis W. Oring, David R. Osborne, Gary W. Page, Robert B. Payne, David B. Peakall, Richard E. Phillips\*, David T. Pitts, Dennis C. Radabaugh, Laurene Ratcliffe, Dennis G. Raveling\*, Kerry Paul Reese, Walter V. Reid\*, Christopher C. Rimmer, James D. Rising, Gary Ritchison\*, Raleigh J. Robertson, John T. Rotenberry, Stephen I. Rothstein, Gary D. Schnell\*, Ralph W. Schreiber\*, William A. Searcy, L. James Shapiro, Thomas W. Sherry, William M. Shields, Lester L. Short, Susan M. Smith\*, William E. Southern\*, Robert W. Storer\*, Mary Anne Sydlik, Emil K. Urban, Francois Vuilleumier, Doris J. Watt, Charles M. Weise\*, Sanford R. Wilbur\*, R. Haven Wiley\*, Joseph M. Wunderle\*, Ken Yasukawa.