NOTES AND NEWS

NEBBA COMMITTEES FOR 1975-76

Mist Net Committee-James O. Seamans, James Baird, James B. Hallett

Investment Committee-James O. Seamans, Deborah V. Howard, Lydia Kennard

Bergstrom Memorial Research Fund Committee—George A. Clark, Jr., Robert P. Yunick, Charles Huntington, Richard B. Farrar, Jr., David W. Johnston Membership Committee—Frederic W. Davis, Brian A. Harrington, George A.

Clark, Jr.

MEETINGS

Fall NEBBA.—The annual meeting of NEBBA was held 24-25 October 1975 at the Drumlin Farm of the Massachusetts Audubon Society, Lincoln, Mass. At the Council Meeting (10 councilors and officers present) on 24 October reports were read from the Treasurer, Investment Committee, Editor of Bird-Banding, Index Committee, Mist Net Committee, Bergstrom Memorial Research Fund Committee, and Back Issues Committee. All back issues of Bird-Banding and the two Ten-year Indexes are now stored at Manomet Bird Observatory. President Seamans appointed a new Membership Committee to explore ways of increasing membership in NEBBA. Discussion was given to a possible name and/or cover change for Bird-Banding especially since the present front page cover cut is nearly worn out. Dr. Johnston gave a progress report on the 1961-70 Ten-year Index now in preparation.

At the annual Business Meeting on 25 October, the Nominating Committee report was presented by Margaret Bon, and the Secretary was instructed to cast one ballot for unanimous acceptance of the slate as read:

President James O. Seamans
Vice-president James B. Hallett
Secretary Deborah V. Howard
Treasurer Lydia L. Kennard
Councilors (4-yr. terms)

(4-yr. terms) Kathleen S. Anderson Sarah B. Laughlin Betty Phinney

An interesting papers session stimulated much discussion on topics such as bird vocalizations, shorebird migration, a new banding station, and reproductive biology and family life of Ospreys.

Spring NEBBA—A joint NEBBA-EBBA meeting is scheduled for 9-11 April 1976 at the 4-H Conference Center at Chevy Chase, Maryland. A tentative program for this joint meeting is as follows: (1) Friday—open house at Patuxent Wildlife Research Center, tours of the Banding Lab, Migratory Non-game Bird Studies Program and Bottomland Forest area, a dinner and informal speaker at the 4-H Center; (2) Saturday—morning workshops, afternoon papers session, meetings for NEBBA and EBBA, banquet; (3) Sunday—tours of Banding Lab and local banding areas. Additional information may be obtained from: Kathleen Klimkiewicz, 13117 Larchdale Road #2, Laurel, Md. 20811 or Deborah V. Howard, Mass. Audubon Society, Lincoln, Mass. 01773.

American Ornithologists' Union—At the 93rd Stated Meeting of the A.O.U. held in Winnipeg, Manitoba, 25-29 August 1975, the following officers were elected: President, John T. Emlen; First Vice-president, Wesley E. Lanyon; Second Vice-president, Kenneth C. Parkes; Secretary, George A. Watson; Treasurer, John A. Wiens. Alexander Wetmore was elected Honorary President. The Brewster Medal for meritorious work on birds of the Western Hemisphere was awarded to Jurgen Haffer. The Coues Awards for contributions that have had important impacts on the study of birds within the Western Hemisphere were given to Walter Bock, Richard F. Johnston, and Robert K. Selander.