## NEWS AND NOTES

## REPORT OF THE SIXTY-FOURTH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COOPER ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY

The Cooper Ornithological Society held its 64th annual meeting jointly with the American Ornithologists' Union and the Wilson Ornithological Society at the University of Montana, Missoula, 21–26 June 1994. This was the first ever joint meeting of these three societies. Richard L. Hutto and Donald A. Jenni cochaired the Local Organizing Committee while James Kushlan chaired the Scientific Program Committee. There were 1,070 registrants.

Three symposia were conducted: "Avian Flight: Design, Performance, and Evolution," organized by Ken Dial and Bret Tabalske; "Grassland Birds: A Quiet Crisis," by Douglas Johnson; and "Stopover Biology of Neotropical Landbird Migrants," by Frank Moore. In addition, three workshops were held: "Analyzing Population Data: What's New and What's Needed," organized by Nadav Nur and Rolf Koford; "Publishing in Ornithological Journals and Monographs," by Ken Yasukawa; and "Women in Ornithology," by Sheila Mahoney and Judith Hand. During the regular scientific sessions additional papers and posters were presented for a total of 513 presentations. A complete listing of papers and posters will be published in the annual meeting supplement to *The Auk*.

The Miller Award, for lifetime achievement in ornithological research, was presented to Storrs L. Olson. A full citation will appear in the February 1995 issue of *The Condor*.

Mewaldt-King Student Research Awards were given to Angela Hodgson of the University of Nevada-Reno for her research, "Juvenile Dispersal and Habitat Use in the Mexican Spotted Owl," and to Jennifer Delisle of the University of Nebraska-Lincoln for "Avian Densities and Grasshopper Sparrow Pairing on Conservation Reserve Land."

Honorary memberships were bestowed on Elsie C. Collias and Charles T. Collins in recognition of their outstanding service to the society and their contributions to ornithology. The full citations for these honorary memberships appear on page 1125.

Four awards were presented for outstanding student

papers. The A. Brazier Howell Award went to Kevin J. Burns, University of California–Berkeley, for his paper, "Evolution of Tanagers in the Genus *Piranga*." The Frances F. Roberts Award was given to Rhys V. Bowen, University of California–Davis, for "Correlates and Fitness Consequences of Winter Territory Ownership in Townsend's Solitaires." A Board of Directors Award was given to Robert B. Blair, Stanford University, for "How Urbanization Changes Bird Communities: A Study Along an Urbanization Gradient." A second Board of Directors Award went to Cheryl L. Tarr, National Zoo, for "Mitochondrial-control-region Sequences of Passerines: Applications to Conservation and Population Genetics."

Through the annual balloting by Society members, Stephen M. Russell, Kimberly A. Sullivan and Wesley W. Weathers were elected to three-year terms on the Board of Directors.

In the Board of Directors' meetings, the following were elected to, or continue in, office: Lloyd F. Kiff, President; Sheila A. Mahoney, President-elect; Terrell D. Rich, Secretary; Peter Stettenheim, Assistant Secretary; Donald R. Powers, Treasurer; Walter Wehtje, Assistant Treasurer. John T. Rotenberry continues as editor of *Studies in Avian Biology*. Glenn E. Walsberg was re-elected editor of *The Condor*. Walter D. Koenig was elected to succeed Walsberg as editor, effective with volume 98 (February, 1996). All editorial correspondence should continue to be directed to Glenn Walsberg until further notice.

Several resolutions were passed jointly by the three societies. These also will appear in the annual meeting supplement to *The Auk*.

The next annual meeting of the Society will be held during the first week in April 1995 in La Paz, Baja California. Dr. Juan Guzman will chair the Local Committee and Dr. Patricia Escalante will chair the Scientific Program Committee. For the first time, the Society will be offering Student Travel Awards to partially offset travel expenses. Application details will appear in the annual meeting circular.

## HONORARY MEMBERSHIPS AWARDED



**ELSIE** COLE COLLIAS

Elsie Cole Collias is a Research Associate at the University of California, Los Angeles, and also of the Los Angeles Natural History Museum. She received her Ph.D. in zoology from the University of Wisconsin in 1948. She is a Fellow of the AOU, and a founding member and Fellow of the Animal Behavior Society. For the last four decades she has been publishing on the behavior of birds. Her most recent article was the first genetic analysis of the inheritance of egg-color polymorphism in a passerine bird. She has numerous other important firsts in her bibliography, such as the demonstration that the egg characteristics of a given female Village Weaver (Ploceus cucullatus) remain constant through life. In addition she has published many other original research contributions with her husband, Nicholas E. Collias. Those in which she has had the primary responsibility include confirming the function of parental bill color in gulls, controlled experiments demonstrating that weaving a complex nest requires practice, and the first detailed description of sex differences in behavior and building of the spectacular apartment-style nest of the Sociable Weaver (Philetairus socius). With her husband, she has co-authored two books on nest-building by birds and edited a book on animal architecture. They have made three films on the behavior of weaverbirds and junglefowl.

They received the Elliott Coues Award form the AOU in 1980 for important contributions to the understanding of bird behavior, and the Avy Award of the American Federation of Aviculture in 1977.

She has been a faithful attendee at COS meetings for many years, and with her husband has presented numerous papers at these meetings.

The Cooper Ornithological Society is proud to present honorary membership to Elsie Cole Collias.

CHARLES T. COLLINS

**Charles T. Collins**, Professor of Biological Sciences at California State University, Long Beach, has been a Cooper Ornithological Society member since 1961. He is a life member of the society, and has served on the board of directors from 1979–1981 and as Treasurer of the society from 1981–1987. Collins' scientific work for over three decades has focused on the ecology and evolution of swifts (Apodidae). However, during this time period he has also studied the growth and development of birds and the natal pterylosis of Neotropical passerines. He has served extensively as a reviewer, publishing 15 reviews of scientific publications since 1962.

Bird banding has been a consistent focus throughout Collins' ornithological career. He served three terms as President of the Western Bird Banding Association and was instrumental in the merger of the three regional iournals to form North American Bird Bander. Many of the 101 research papers that he has published have been associated with some facet of bird banding. In recent years his research efforts have included a longterm demographic study of the endemic Santa Cruz Island Scrub Jay and the breeding biology and survival of terns, particularly the endangered California Least Tern. He has served as a member of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Recovery Teams for the Light-footed Clapper Rail and the California Least Tern. Collins has supervised banding studies of the latter species since 1979 and for four years served as project director for the annual state-wide survey and inventory of all California Least Tern colonies in the state.

For his service to the society and his contributions to ornithology, the Cooper Ornithological Society is pleased to confer Honorary Membership on Charles T. Collins.