His interests in mammalogy were as strong as those in ornithology. He wrote the "Mammals of Utah" (1922) and a book on the mountain lion. He was a charter member of the American Society of Mammalogists. In addition to his work on birds, mammals, and nature-lore, he published a book on philosophy and one on poetry. His other societal affiliations were: Fellow, London Zoological Society; Fellow, Philosophical Society of England; Honorary Fellow, Eugene Field Society; Member, Society of Physical Research, London; Charter Member, Society for the Study of Evolution; Member, Ecological Society of America, Biological Society of Washington, Western Society of Naturalists and AAAS.—WILLIAM H. BEHLE.

FREDERICK VANUXEM HEBARD was born in Chestnut Hill, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania on October 15, 1900, the son of Daniel Learnard Hebard and Julia Vanuxem Hebard. After graduating from Chestnut Hill Academy, Yale University, and the University of Pennsylvania Law School, he practiced law in Philadelphia almost all his life. He died on March 29, 1961 while on a trip to Everglades National Park. He is survived by his wife, the former Elizabeth Fales, and four children.

Fred joined the A.O.U. in 1930 as an Associate, and became an Elective Member in 1951. He was also a member of the Wilson Ornithological Society, Cooper Ornithological Society, Maine Audubon Society, and a charter member of the Georgia Ornithological Society. In addition to some 35 or 40 notes in various ornithological journals, he wrote "Winter birds of the Okefenokee and Coleraine," published by the Georgian Ornithological Society in 1941. For more detailed obituaries, see Oriole, 26: 17–22, 1961 and Cassinia, 46: 19–20, 1961–62.—C. CHANDLER ROSS.

A.O.U. COMMITTEES 1970-71

- INVESTING TRUSTEES: Cyrus Mark, Chairman. E. Turner Biddle, Melvin A. Traylor, Jr.
- COMMITTEE ON ARCHIVES: Gorman M. Bond, Chairman. Dean Amadon, Earle R. Greene.
- COMMITTEE ON BIOGRAPHY: William H. Behle, Chairman. Enid K. Austin, Keith L. Dixon, Harvey I. Fisher, W. Earl Godfrey, Douglass H. Morse.
- COMMITTEE ON BREWSTER MEMORIAL AWARD: George A. Bartholomew, Chairman. John Davis, D. Frank McKinney, Val Nolan, Jr., Richard L. Zusi.
- COMMITTEE ON CLASSIFICATION AND NOMENCLATURE: Eugene Eisenmann, *Chairman*. Dean Amadon, Emmet R. Blake, Thomas R. Howell, Ned K. Johnson, George H. Lowery, Jr., Kenneth C. Parkes, Robert W. Storer, Harrison B. Tordoff.
- COMMITTEE ON CONSERVATION: George J. Wallace, Chairman. Peter L. Ames, Winston E. Banko, C. T. Black, Joseph R. Jehl, Jr., David B. Peakall, Walter R. Spofford.
- EDITORIAL COMMITTEE: Oliver L. Austin, Jr., *Chairman.* Eugene Eisenmann, John W. Hardy, Willetta Lueshen, Robert M. Mengel, Ralph S. Palmer, Florence Pettis, L. R. Wolfe, Glen E. Woolfenden.
- COMMITTEE ON ENDOWMENT: Peter Stettenheim, Chairman. John S. Dunning, Cyrus Mark, William C. Vaughan.

COMMITTEE ON FINANCE: Burt L. Monroe, Jr., Chairman. Hoyes Lloyd, Cyrus

Mark, Robert J. Newman, Peter Stettenheim, Melvin A. Traylor, Jr.

- COMMITTEE ON FOREIGN TRANSLATIONS: George E. Watson, Chairman. Donald S. Farner, Robert S. Hoffman, Miklos D. F. Udvardy.
- LOCAL COMMITTEE ON ARRANGEMENTS: Frank Richardson and Dennis Paulson, *Cochairmen*. Tony Angell, Donald S. Farner, Robert F. Furrer, Gordon H. Orians, Mrs. Dennis Paulson, Robert M. Pyle, Mrs. Frank Richardson, Gerald A. Sanger, Edmund W. Stiles, Terence R. Wahl.
- COMMITTEE ON NOMINATION OF MEMBERS: James Baird and Douglas A. Lancaster, *Cochairmen*. Laurence C. Binford, Richard Brewer, John L. Bull, Patrick J. Gould, Thomas A. Imhof, Karl W. Kenyon, Harold D. Mitchell, Robert W. Nero, Thomas L. Quay, Paul W. Sykes, Jr., George C. West.
- COMMITTEE ON NOMINATION OF FELLOWS AND ELECTIVE MEMBERS: Kenneth E. Stager, *Chairman*. Thomas J. Cade, Lester L. Short, Jr.
- COMMITTEE ON NOMINATION OF HONORARY AND CORRESPONDING FELLOWS: George E. Watson, *Chairman*. William R. Dawson, Paul A. Johnsgard, Richard F. Johnston.
- COMMITTEE ON PROGRAM: James R. King, *Chairman*. Robert F. Andrle, Richard C. Banks, Dennis Paulson, Robert B. Payne.
- COMMITTEE ON PUBLICATIONS: Oliver L. Austin, Jr., Chairman. Richard C. Banks, Eugene Eisenmann, Robert M. Mengel, Burt L. Monroe, Jr., Ralph S. Palmer, Robert W. Storer.
- COMMITTEE ON RESEARCH: Alan H. Brush, Chairman. Kendall W. Corbin, J. Bruce Falls, Richard T. Holmes, Robert C. Lasiewski, Daniel S. Lehrman, Edwin O. Willis.
- COMMITTEE ON RESOLUTIONS: Joseph R. Jehl, Jr., Chairman. Stephen M. Russell, James Tate, Jr., Glen E. Woolfenden.
- COMMITTEE ON STUDENT AWARDS: Jared Verner, Chairman. Russell P. Balda, David A. Boag, Oliver H. Hewitt, Joseph C. Howell, William L. Thompson.
- SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON BIRD COLLECTIONS: Richard C. Banks, Chairman. Jon Barlow, Mary Heimerdinger Clench.
- SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON THE BREWSTER AWARD: Joseph J. Hickey, Chairman. Eugene Eisenmann, Donald S. Farner, Thomas R. Howell.
- SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON ORGANIZATION OF THE A.O.U.: Fred G. Evenden, Chairman. Walter Bock, John W. Hardy, Larry C. Holcomb, Phillip S. Humphrey, Richard L. Zusi.
- REPRESENTATIVES TO THE A.A.A.S. COUNCIL: Richard T. Holmes, Helmut C. Mueller.