NOTES AND NEWS

It is with the greatest regret that we report the passing of three Fellows and former officers of the A.O.U. Josselyn Van Tyne, President of the A.O.U. from 1950 to 1953, died at Ann Arbor, Michigan, on January 30, 1957. John T. Zimmer, Editor of 'The Auk' from 1942 to 1948, died at White Plains, New York, January 7, 1957. Lawrence E. Hicks, Secretary of the A.O.U. from 1937 to 1946, died at Columbus, Ohio, January 20, 1957.

A new sales list of publications has been compiled by the New York State Museum and is available without charge on request to the Museum at Albany 1, New York. The revised list includes a considerable number of zoological bulletins, circulars, handbooks, etc., that were formerly considered out of print and have been available only through dealers. The stock of some of these items is small; in such cases, preference will be given to orders from libraries of universities, foundations, and other organizations.

William H. Drury, Jr., has been appointed to take charge of the education and research program of the Louise Ayer Hatheway School of Conservation Education which was recently established at Lincoln, Massachusetts, by the Massachusetts Audubon Society.

AOU COMMITTEES 1956-57

COMMITTEE ON BIOGRAPHY. A. W. Schorger, Chairman. Walter J. Breckenridge, Hildegarde Howard, J. Murray Spiers, Wendell Taber.

COMMITTEE ON BIRD PROTECTION. E. R. Kalmbach, Chairman. Jean Delacour, I. N. Gabrielson, Robert A. McCabe, David A. Munro.

COMMITTEE ON THE BREWSTER MEMORIAL AWARD. S. Charles Kendeigh, Chairman. Dean Amadon, George H. Lowery, Jr., Charles G. Sibley, Albert Wolfson.

COMMITTEE ON CLASSIFICATION AND NOMENCLATURE OF NORTH AMERICAN BIRDS. Alexander Wetmore, Chairman. Herbert Friedmann, Vice-Chairman. Dean Amadon, Frederick C. Lincoln, George H. Lowery, Jr., Alden H. Miller, Frank A. Pitelka.

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE. Robert W. Storer, *Chairman*. Andrew J. Berger, William R. Dawson, John T. Emlen, Jr., Harvey I. Fisher, D. Frank McKinney, L. R. Wolfe.

COMMITTEE ON ENDOWMENT. Betty Carnes (Mrs. Herbert E.), Chairman. Arthur A. Allen, Rudyerd Boulton, Jean Delacour, Roger T. Peterson, Olin Sewall Pettingill, Jr., Herbert L. Stoddard, Alexander Wetmore.

COMMITTEE ON FINANCE. Charles G. Sibley, Chairman. Ernst Mayr, Harold Mayfield, Burt L. Monroe, Hoyes Lloyd, Austin Rand.

COMMITTEE ON NOMINATION OF FELLOWS AND ELECTIVE MEMBERS. Harvey I. Fisher, Chairman. Dean Amadon, Eugene P. Odum.

COMMITTEE ON NOMINATION OF HONORARY AND CORRESPONDING FELLOWS. S. Dillon Ripley, Chairman. I. McT. Cowan, Austin Rand.

COMMITTEE ON NOMINATION OF ASSOCIATES. William H. Drury, Jr., Chairman. John J. Elliott, J. Harold Ennis, Thomas H. Foster, Fred T. Hall, W. W. Hill, Thomas Imhof, F. W. Loetscher, Jr., Harold S. Peters, Loren S. Putnam, T. L. Onay.