NOTES AND NEWS

At the banquet of the North American Wild Life Conference in New Orleans, on March 6, 1956, Hoyes Lloyd was presented the Aldo Leopold Award for outstanding contributions to the cause of wildlife conservation in North America.

MARCIA B. TUCKER AWARD IN ORNITHOLOGY

The sum of \$550 is available this year in the Marcia B. Tucker Award in Ornithology. These funds are to be used to assist promising young ornithologists in attending the annual meeting of the American Ornithologists' Union at Denver. We expect that awards will be granted to three or more people. The amount in each instance will depend upon the distance to be traveled.

Any member may nominate people for this award. Nominees need not be members, but it is hoped that they may intend to present papers at the meeting. Information should include the following items:

- 1. Name, age, and address of nominee.
- 2. Education and experience of nominee.
- 3. Statement by the sponsor about the capabilities, special interests, and financial need of the nominee.

This information should be sent to the Secretary (Harold Mayfield, River Road, Waterville, Ohio) not later than July 1, 1956. The officers of the A.O.U. will serve as a committee to name the awardees.

THE FIRST RUSSIAN ORNITHOLOGICAL CONGRESS

The first Russian ornithological congress took place in Leningrad, January 19 to 24, 1956. An interesting account of this congress has been prepared by Guy Mountford, who represented the British Ornithologists' Union and the British Trust for Ornithology, and will be published in 'The Ibis.'

•

STUDENT MEMBERSHIP AWARDS FOR 1956 SELECTED BY THE A.O.U COMMITTEE ON STUDENT MEMBERSHIP AWARDS

Claude T. Adams, University of Florida, Gainesville John Robinson Cartwright, Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario Peter Wright Davis, Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine Jared Mason Diamond, Harvard College, Cambridge, Mass. Elwood Elder Eakin, Wooster College, Wooster, Ohio Harry Richard Fevold, Montana State University, Missoula Norman Lee Ford, University of Kansas, Lawrence William Gordon George, University of Arizona, Tucson Albert Earl Gilbert, Steinmetz High School, Chicago, Illinois Stephen Thomas Harty, Cleveland Institute of Art, Cleveland, Ohio Norman Calvin Higgins, Central Missouri State College, Warrensburg, Missouri Mary Ann Joyner, Florida State University, Tallahassee Lloyd Burrows Keith, University of Wisconsin, Madison Harry Charles Laum, University of Wyoming, Laramie Halsey Means Marsden, University of Missouri, Columbia Edward Gordon McCoy, North Carolina State College, Raleigh John J. McCoy, University of Florida, Gainesville Barid Baran Mukherjee, Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah John Carl Oberheu, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale Donald W. Simkin, Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph Alan Ernest Stiven, University of New Brunswick, Fredericton Robert D. Weigel, University of Florida, Gainesville James Russell Werner, Phoenix College, Arizona Clayton M. White, University of Utah, Salt Lake City