## NOTES AND NEWS

At the Seventieth Stated Meeting recently held in Baton Rouge the following officers were elected for 1952-53: President, Josselyn Van Tyne; Vice-Presidents, Alden H. Miller and Ludlow Griscom; Secretary, Albert Wolfson; Treasurer, R. Allyn Moser. Elective Members of the Council: Jean Delacour, Harvey I. Fisher, Herbert L. Stoddard.

The Council elected Robert W. Storer, *Editor* of 'The Auk;' Frederick V. Hebard (Chairman), G. Ruhland Rebmann, Jr., and Phillips B. Street, *Investing Trustees*.

The 1952 Brewster Medal was awarded, by action of the Council, to Dr. John T. Zimmer of the American Museum of Natural History for his research on the systematics and distribution of South American birds, especially those of Peru.

The following Members were elected to the class of Fellows:

Emmet Reid Blake, Chicago, Illinois.

Paul Lester Errington, Ames, Iowa.

Elsie Margaret Binger Naumburg, New York, New York.

William Henry Phelps, Sr., Caracas, Venezuela.

Robert Winthrop Storer, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Albert Wolfson, Evanston, Illinois.

The following persons were elected Corresponding Fellows:

Armando Dugand, Colombia.

Jack William Davies Goodall, Santiago, Chile.

Alfred William Johnson, Santiago, Chile.

Rodulfo Amando Philippi B., Santiago, Chile.

The following Associates were elected to the class of Members:

William J. Baerg, Fayetteville, Arkansas.

Andrew John Berger, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

William Bertram Cartwright, Manitoba, Canada.

Howard L. Cogswell, Berkeley, California.

Joshua Clifton Dickinson, Jr., Gainesville, Florida.

Harold Carsten Hanson, Urbana, Illinois.

Margaret Brooks Hickey, Madison, Wisconsin.

M. Brooke Meanley, Baltimore, Maryland.

Robert James Newman, Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

Raymond Andrew Paynter, Jr., New Haven, Connecticut.

Phillips Borden Street, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

George Guion Williams, Houston, Texas.

The number of Associates elected was 566, one of the largest annual numbers in the history of the Union.

Mrs. Herbert E. Carnes and Mrs. Carll Tucker became Patrons of the Union.

The Fellows and Members, meeting together, accepted the invitation of the Los Angeles County Museum to hold the Seventy-first Stated Meeting in Los Angeles in October, 1953. Jean Delacour was appointed Chairman of the Local Committee on Arrangements.

Registration totalled 286, a record for meetings at which there has been a registration fee; included were persons from thirty-three States, Canada, Brazil, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela.

The complete Proceedings of the Seventieth Stated Meeting will be published in the April issue of 'The Auk.'—Albert Wolfson.

The International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature has recently published (Bull. Zool. Nomenclature, Vol. 9, Triple Part 1/3, Oct. 1952. Price, 1 pound, 13 shillings from the International Trust for Zoological Nomenclature, Publications Office, 41, Queen's Gate, London, S. W. 7.) 22 applications submitted to them relating to the names of birds. Several of these applications deal with conserving the names of well-known North American birds, a matter of interest to most members of the A.O.U.

The Commission invites comments on all of the applications published. Comments should be submitted in duplicate and must be received before April 15, 1953. The Secretary requests that the comments be typed on one side of the paper only and that comments on each application be on a separate sheet of paper and bear the Commission's reference number as listed in the Bulletin.

Comments should be addressed to Francis Hemming, Secretary, International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature, 28, Park Village East, Regent's Park, London, N. W. 1, England.

Membership of 1952 committees.—The complete list of members of the Union's Committee on the Nomination of Associates has not hitherto been published. The following served during the past year: I. C. Adams, Jr., Gordon Alexander, James P. Anglin, Mrs. Herbert E. Carnes, Herman F. Chapman, William S. Clarke, Jr., Roland C. Clement, Ben B. Coffey, Jr., J. Fred Denton, John L. Diedrich, Clara Dixon, J. Harold Ennis, Alfred E. Eynon, Rowley Frith, Robert T. Gammell, Herman Goebel, Lawrence I. Grinnell, Gordon W. Gullion, Harvey L. Gunderson, Fred T. Hall, George E. Hudson, Thomas A. Imhof, Henry C. Kyllingstad, Edward B. Lang, Louis Lemieux, Frederick W. Loetscher, George H. Lowery, Jr., Douglas S. Miller, Gale Monson, J. J. Murray, Robert A. Norris, Christopher M. Packard, Thomas L. Quay, Chandler S. Robbins, Oliver K. Scott, Angus H. Shortt, Alexander Sprunt, Jr., W. Austin Squires, Kenneth E. Stager, Louis A. Stimson, Frank G. Watson, William F. Rapp, Jr. (Vice-Chairman), and Aaron M. Bagg (Chairman).

Other additions to committees during the year were as follows:

Committee on Biography: David L. Garrison. Committe on Endowment: Douglas S. Miller.

Committee on Bird Protection: H. Everest Clements.

Membership of 1953 Committees:

Advisory Committee on Bird Protection: Ira N. Gabrielson (Chairman), Ludlow Griscom, Hoyes Lloyd.

All other committees will be listed in the April issue of 'The Auk.'

This issue of THE AUK has been sent to all persons on the 1952 Membership Roll. To insure receiving the future numbers of Volume 70, promptly remit dues for 1953 to R. Allyn Moser, Treasurer, 90th and Farnam Streets, Omaha 6, Nebraska.