Minutes of Meeting

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING

The Annual Meeting of the Eastern Bird Banding Association was held at Wilson Lodge, Oglebay Park, Wheeling, W. Va. April 6, 1968 at 4:45 pm., with President Mary Rebecca Cregar presiding. Minutes of the 1967 Annual Meeting were approved as published.

Treasurer Elise Dickerson reported that for the first time in twelve years income from memberships showed a drop rather than an increase. Sustaining Memberships almost carried our general expenses in the past, but they have now dropped by about half. However, EBBA expenses have also dropped, for the first time in several years.

Dorothy Mendinhall, speaking for the Memorial Grant Committee, reminded members that a donation to this Fund (tax deductible) was a very suitable memorial in honor of a friend or relative, and at the same time helped provide aid to some student of ornithology. Because of an anonymous special gift, it was possible this year to award two grants. Winners were Leon J. Gorski of Central Connecticut State College, for his study of Traill's Flycatcher, and Charles J. Henny of Oregon State University, who is exploring the mortality rate of several species by analysis of banding records. They were chosen from a field of 17 excellent applications. Next year the date of choosing a winner will be advanced so that he or she can attend the Annual Meeting.

Mist net sales have been very good and a profit has been turned over to the general fund. Bob Merritt reported for the Net Committee that they have been working with our Japanese suppliers to improve net quality and usefulness, and would welcome comments on net preferences.

Reappointment of our EBBA News Editor, Frank Frazier, Jr., with Frank Frazier, Sr. as Co-Editor, was announced and a hearty vote of thanks given for a job well done.

Next year's annual meeting was announced, and will be held April 18, 19 and 20 at the University of Delaware with the Delmarva Ornithological Society as host.

Mabel Gillespie, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, reminded members that their suggestions for nominations were always in order and welcomed by a nominating committee. She presented the following slate:

For President
ist Vice President
2nd Vice President
3rd Vice President
Secretary
Treasurer

Dr. Robert P. Yunick
Mr. Emil Berger, Jr.
Dr. Jeff Swinebroad
Mr. Christopher N. Rose
Miss Wilde Mellencamp
Mrs. Elise Dickerson

For Councillor

Dr. Charles Blake
Mrs. Jane Church
Mr. Charles Neel
Mr. Albert Schnitzer

Dr. Mary Heimerdinger (to fill

unexpired term)

After a call for nominations from the floor, there being none, it was moved, seconded and carried that the secretary cast a ballot electing the slate of officers and councillors as nominated.

The meeting was then adjourned.

Wilde R. Mellencamp, Secretary pro tem





Left: Dr. Kenneth Prescott examining shorebird decoys with Bob Yunick at right. Right: The gathering at the exhibit tables during a coffee break between sessions.